African ImPRINTS

Here is an interesting story about what I wore on this day.

I took my dad’s shirt which he had purchased from a local fashion designer in Lagos Nigeria. He was wearing it the one day and I told him I would like to make a dress out of his shirt. He laughed at me at first then he later agreed when he realised I was dead serious .Well this was long before that signature blue and red African Print Shirt that everyone had broke the internet. This was even before they decided to give the print the name “Aztec”. Everything about this shirt gave me life. I have been told how you can tell how great a Nigerian designer is is by how well presented the embroidery on these signature shirts look and this is always perfectly placed around the neck all the way down to the chest. These shirts are made while you wait , all you have to do is bring the fabric of your choice and the designer goes wild .This piece was indeed well excecuted and people always ask me where I bought this “dress” from. I always have to explain Β that this was once an extra large men’s shirt and thanks to my mom’s Fashion Design skills we managed to transform it to a dress.

Co Model : Alex Dress/ Shirt: By a fashion designer based in Lagos Nigeria Heels: Legit  Sneakers: Levi's Watch: Cotton On

Male Model : Alex
Dress/ Shirt: By a fashion designer based in Lagos Nigeria
Heels: Legit
Sneakers: Levi’s
Watch: Cotton On

DSC_0343

DSC_0359(2) DSC_0349 DSC_0344

DSC_0408

DSC_0409

DSC_0413

DSC_0415

DSC_0430

4 thoughts on “African ImPRINTS

  1. I was still waiting for a story about this shirt…its so well done. I love it. With that hairstyle, it’s perfecto!

    Like

Leave a Reply

